One of my all time favorite comfort foods that my dad makes is Chicken Cacciatore. Whenever I am sick, missing home or just don’t know what to make for dinner, I almost always reach for this. I am being healthier and more aware of what I eat so the chicken thighs and pasta (sadly) had to go. I heard that HEB (my local grocery store) had a special on tilapia so I came with full intentions to make some yummy tilapia. I guess a lot of other Austinites had the same idea because this evening – they were completely sold out. So orange roughy it was. No more pasta – asparagus takes that place now. This recipe is so simple and quick to make I think Dad would give a thumbs up too.

Ingredients:
2 orange roughy fillets
3 Roma tomatoes cut into small pieces
2 shallots sliced
2-3 cloves of garlic minced
2-3 T of dry white wine
2-3 T of capers -rinsed
1 bunch of asparagus
Italian seasoning

Set your oven to broil.  Spray a baking sheet with Pam and place the fish on the baking sheet. Drizzle the fish with olive oil and sprinkle with Italian seasoning. Broil the fish until it is cooked to your liking (I like mine medium well). Pull the fish out and let it set.

Post cooking

Meanwhile, in a sauce pan, heat up some olive oil and saute the shallots, tomatoes and garlic until the tomatoes start to soften. Once the tomatoes lose their liquid and reduce, add the wine and let it simmer until it is reduced by 1/2. Add the capers and let them heat up.

mmm saucy

After the fish is out of the oven, wash the asparagus and break off the woody ends of the asparagus. Put the asparagus spears on a baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil and pepper. Broil the asparagus until they softened and browning at the tips.

Asparagus

Plating: put the asparagus on the plate and then lay the fish on top. Spoon the tomato sauce on top of the fish. Enjoy!

Nutritionally this is amazing! The entire serving of 1 fillet, sauce and asparagus totals 306 calories, 13g of fat and 41g of protein.

Cost wise this isn’t THE best recipe for the budget but it still doesn’t break the bank by any means. You can use any wine you have in the fridge and luckily I still had some leftover from the weekend so I didn’t have to buy any today. Total cost of the meal is $8 each serving which still isn’t too bad right?